Lisa Hall Zimmerman to Receive National Preceptor Award

September 06, 2018

The Department of Pharmacy and Pharmacy Residency Programs are pleased to announce that Lisa Hall Zimmerman, PharmD, BCPS, BCNSP, BCCCP, FCCM has been selected as the recipient of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists 2018 Pharmacy Residency Excellence Preceptor Award. Dr. Hall Zimmerman is a Critical Care Pharmacist and the director of the PGY2 Critical Care Pharmacy Residency Program. The Pharmacy Residency Excellence Preceptor Award is given annually to one pharmacist in recognition of their innovative training methods, mentorship, and excellence in residency training. Criteria for the award requires the recipient to embody the following characteristics:

• History of significant contributions to residency training in the role of preceptor and mentor

• Demonstrated leadership qualities

• Respected by peers

• Innovative resident educator

• Contributor to research and service at the community and organizational levels

• Track record for instilling these qualities in their residents and positively influencing residents’ careers


Dr. Hall Zimmerman received her Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy from Auburn University, her Doctor of Pharmacy from Samford University and completed a PGY2 Critical Care Pharmacy Residency at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minn. Dr. Hall Zimmerman serves on the Board of Directors for the Carolinas Virginias Chapter of the Society of Critical Care Medicine. She is also a member of the Society of Critical Care Medicine, the American Society of Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition, the American College of Clinical Pharmacists, and the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists.

Dr. Hall Zimmerman established the PGY2 Critical Care Pharmacy Residency Program at NHRMC in 2016 after previously serving as the PGY2 Critical Care director at the Detroit Receiving Hospital in Detroit, Mich. from 2005-2013.  Dr. Hall Zimmerman has been instrumental in the creation of the PGY2 Critical Care Residency at NHRMC and the enhancement of the critical care and research experiences for the NHRMC pharmacy residents.

The award will be presented at the ASHP Midyear Clinical Meeting in Anaheim, Calif., in December 2018.