Community Engagement Administrator Scott Whisnant Honored by NAACP

June 03, 2019
Scott Whisnant NAACP Awards

NHRMC Community Engagement Administrator Scott Whisnant received the 2019 Community Health Service Award from the New Hanover NAACP at a banquet on Friday, May 31.

Whisnant was honored for his leadership as NHRMC continues to pursue its mission of Leading Our Community to Outstanding Health.

“I am flattered beyond words by this award. But it also belongs to this organization that values this kind of community engagement, and to everyone here who does what they do every day so that I can have the honor of representing us in the community,” he said. “Still, we have so much work left to do.”

Whisnant is the founding chairman of Cape Fear HealthNet, a community-wide effort to improve access to care for the uninsured poor. He has served on the boards of numerous organizations that address homelessness and support children in poverty in public schools. In 2011, he was recognized as an Albert Schweitzer Honors Scholar, designated by UNCW to honor those who have made significant community contributions.

Whisnant supervises NHRMC’s government advocacy and community engagement, coordinating much of the health system’s mission work.

He is chair of the New Hanover County Resiliency Task Force, which has more than 450 members  who are ambassadors for teaching the community how to combat toxic stress. He is also leading efforts to bring a food pharmacy to NHRMC, a grocery store to the Northside neighborhood, and a homeless recuperative care shelter for NHRMC patients who have nowhere else to go.

Whisnant was honored by the NAACP along with veteran New Hanover County educator Bertha Todd and Coach Kim Crabbe, the first African-American woman to play with the U.S. women’s soccer team; and former Williston High School teacher Florence Warren.

Several members of he NHRMC African American Employee Resource Group, ONYX, represented NHRMC at the banquet.


Pictured: Scott Whisnant with NHRMC teammates Billie Robinson, Stephania Bloodworth, and Anechia Wiggins.