New Officers and Medical Staff President Appointed to NHRMC Board of Trustees

November 02, 2015
Richard McGraw

WILMINGTON, NC – New Hanover Regional Medical Center is pleased to announce the new officers and members of the Board of Trustees for fiscal year 2016. NHRMC is appreciative of the leadership of its board members and their commitment to improving healthcare for patients and families in southeastern North Carolina.

“I would like to thank Dr. Pace for his leadership of the board during a period of tremendous growth and success at New Hanover Regional Medical Center,” said Jack Barto, NHRMC president and CEO. “Our community’s trust in us is a direct reflection of our dedication to providing excellent care and the board’s foresight in making decisions that benefit our patients, employees and our community.”

At the NHRMC Board of Trustees meeting Oct. 27, the following FY 2016 officers were appointed:

• Richard (Dick) McGraw, Chairman

• Robert (Bobby) G. Greer, Vice Chair

• Michael (Mike) O. Wilkinson, Secretary

• Ronald (Ron) Isyk, Treasurer

• Beth Dawson, New Hanover County Commissioner, Ex Officio

• John S. Pace, MD, JD, Member at Large

• Patricia L. Leonard, Member at Large

• Steve Crawford, MD, Medical Staff President, Ex Officio

McGraw succeeds Dr. Pace as chairman of the NHRMC Board of Trustees. McGraw was appointed in 2009 and is currently serving his third term as a trustee. He also served from 2000-2001 before accepting an appointment with the Department of Defense, which included serving as special assistant to Defense Secretary Donald Rumsfeld.

Dr. Crawford succeeds Philip M. Brown, Jr., MD, as medical staff president. Dr. Brown will become NHRMC’s Chief Physician Executive on Jan. 1. Dr. Crawford served as secretary/treasurer of the medical staff in 2014 and president elect during FY 2015. Kevin Cannon, MD, has been appointed medical staff president elect and is a standing guest of the board.

Rhonda Amoroso, John R. (Rod) Andrew, Greer and McGraw have been reappointed to another term on the board. Trustees serve three-year terms, up to three terms, before rotating off the board.

At the meeting, Hemantkumar (Henry) M. Patel, MD, was recognized for his leadership and service as he rotates off the board. Dr. Patel served as medical staff president elect, president and immediate past medical staff president.

Dr. Brown will serve as immediate past medical staff president until Nov. 25, after which he will rotate off the board. Dr. Patel is scheduled to resume that position at that time.

Other board members serving current terms are:

• Heather Davis, DO, Ex Officio - Pender Memorial Hospital Medical Staff President

• Brian Eckel

• Jerome G. Fennell, Jr.

• Howard Rockness, PhD

• Jason Thompson

• James David Williams, Jr., Ex Officio - serves at pleasure of Pender Memorial Hospital Board of Trustees