Novant Health Coastal Board of Managers

Note: Individuals are Community Managers unless otherwise noted.

  • Neal Beard, MD, Physician Manager
  • Thomas Bellamy, Brunswick Manager
  • Barb Biehner
  • Dana Cook
  • Brian Eckel, At-large Manager
  • Heather Davis, Physician Manager
  • Jerome Fennell
  • Michael Jaskolka, MD, DDS, Physician Manager
  • Mitch Lamm
  • Tony McGhee
  • John Pace, MD
  • Howard Rockness
  • Bill Smith, MD, CHA Manager
  • Mike Steiner, MD, MPH, UNC Manager
  • Jason Thompson, At-large Manager
  • David Williams

Shelbourn Stevens, president of NHRMC and the Coastal Market

Shelbourn Stevens also oversees Novant Health Brunswick Medical Center and Pender Memorial Hospital.

During his 30-year tenure with Novant Health, he has worked in a wide variety of departments and held numerous leadership roles, including president and chief operating officer of Brunswick Medical Center for many years. Stevens played an integral part in the transition from the original Brunswick Community Hospital to its new, state-of-the-art facility in 2011.

Stevens is accountable for the market along with having other systemwide responsibilities across Novant Health.

NHRMC President and CEO

John Gizdic PQPJohn Gizdic has played a vital role in supporting the improvement of patient care and growth of NHRMC. During his tenure, he led or directed several key initiatives including creating the physician network that became NHRMC Physicians Group; leading Physician Quality Partners, the organization’s Accountable Care Organization; facilitating numerous joint ventures in partnership with physicians, and spearheading an organization-wide effort to improve efficiencies - leading to an $100 million operational improvement in four years.

John came to NHRMC in 2005 as Vice President of Strategic Planning and Business Development. He assumed the title of Chief Operating Officer in 2013. He became NHRMC President in 2016 and officially became CEO in 2017. Before joining NHRMC, he worked 14 years in various roles within Carolinas HealthCare System, the last of which was Vice President of Operations at Carolinas HealthCare System - Blue Ridge in Morganton, N.C.

Throughout his time at NHRMC, John has been active in the community in various roles, to include Second Vice President on the Wilmington Chamber of Commerce Board, member of the Cape Fear Future Board, Chairman of the N.C. Center for Affordable Health Care, member of the N.C. Hospital Association’s Policy Development Committee and 2016 Honorary Chairman of Relay for Life of Wilmington. He is the Chairman for the 2017 Cape Fear Heart Walk.